Acknowledgements for Volume 1, 2020


Music Research Annual, Volume 1, 2020

Launching a new journal is a significant undertaking, and this first volume would not exist without the work of an extraordinary group of individuals. The general editors would like to thank our editorial board, whose efforts in shaping the vision of the journal and bringing this first volume to fruition have been truly outstanding. We also express our appreciation to past and present staff members at the Research Centre for the Study of Music, Media, and Place (MMaP) at Memorial University of Newfoundland (Spencer Crewe, Dr. Meghan Forsyth, and Dr. Joy Fraser), MMaP’s editorial assistants (Kiersten Fage, Mark Lenini Parselelo, and Peter Verdin), staff members at Memorial’s School of Music and Queen Elizabeth II Library (Dr. Patrick Gamsby, Dr. Janet Goosney, Christine McDonald, Lisa McDonald, and Jordan Patterson), Dr. Virginia McGowan of the Write Edit Group, and Graham Blair of Graham Blair Designs, who have devoted so much time and effort to this project. The journal gratefully acknowledges the support of the Canada Research Chairs Program, as well as Memorial’s School of Music, Department of Folklore, and Office of the President. Special thanks go to School of Music Dean Dr. Ian Sutherland, whose ongoing support of MMaP and the journal has been invaluable.